/
received a Lead Award and an ADC Award
CIRCUS
THE BLOGGERS' BOOKAZINE

CIRCUS Voyage – Pledge now – Crowdfunding at Inkubato


CIRCUS is here to stay, if we can find enough supporters by summer.

From the ultimate clash between online and print came CIRCUS – the very first international blogger bookazine. The avant-garde journalists of the internet contribute bi-annually to a new, monothematic issue of the CIRCUS series. They write in their mother tongue about the questions that burn inside them and they show us the world as they see it through their words, photos and illustrations.

CIRCUS Bookazine

CIRCUS is a bookazine, a perfect symbiosis between a book and a magazine. It is written by bloggers. Nothing is recycled, the content is being freshly produced. CIRCUS is distributed worldwide, if possible twice a year. Every issue has a leading topic and is multilingual.

CIRCUS Bookazine

CIRCUS #2 Voyage is a wild trip into foreign countries, past adventures, exciting cultures and alternative lifestyles. Like in the first issue bloggers from all over the world let us have a look into their world and let us experience up close what their country and cultural heritage is all about. As reporters on the spot they are independent, critical and better informed about their area as any respectable traveling journalist could ever be. They bring light to corners often overlooked in the “Where next?” kind of journalism published in glossy magazines. And they ask questions we all want to get answered:

CIRCUS Bookazine

Will our beautiful models dare to eat the most disgusting local specialties ever? How did Luis Vuitton get from packing suitcases to designing them? And how comfortable do African dictators travel in their private jets? What did international stars experience on their first journey without their parents? And how high is the ransom a terrorist receives when holding one of these risk loving tourists hostage? Where does a Lonely-Planet-author get his insider information from? How does traveling by coach from San Francisco to Boston make you feel? What do political refugees remember about the journey that saved their life? And which rich racers will risk theirs at the next gumball3000, riding from London to Istanbul?

CIRCUS Bookazine

Contribute

You already know the greatest story for CIRCUS Voyage? You want to become an author, illustrator or photographer yourself? You would like to collaborate with us in any other way? We are looking forward to reading your great ideas but we are not at the stage where we look trough ideas and contributions yet. If you want to join our journey just subscribe to our newsletter: http://circus-bookazine.com/en/newsletter/. You will be the first to know when we start looking for contributors again.

CIRCUS Bookazine

Even though our bookazine is about travel we won’t spend your money for discovering the world. We need it for production (photo shootings or material for illustrations) and of course for printing and distributing CIRCUS all over the world. With the 33.333 dollars we cover all printing and overhead costs. Not covered are any salaries for our team and our bloggers. But we will hopefully sell a few copies trough regular distribution channels. And every dollar that comes in trough these sales is what our bloggers and editoral team will get for their sweat and tears.

CIRCUS Bookazine

So how is this whole thing going to roll?

We, the editorial team in Darmstadt, will organize the whole workflow. As soon as our financing target is met we will get in contact with the bloggers, develop ideas and assemble the bookazine. We keep track of everything but without the amazing work of our contributing bloggers worldwide CIRCUS would never be possible.

If you want to know more about our production process, financing plan, the team or just about anything else. Visit our website or ask us a question on formspring. http://www.formspring.me/circusbookazine

CIRCUS Bookazine

CIRCUS Voyage – as if you were already there.

Release: September 2011.

/
received a Lead Award and an ADC Award
CIRCUS
THE BLOGGERS' BOOKAZINE

CIRCUS Voyage – Jetzt unterstützen – Crowdfunding bei Inkubato

CIRCUS könnte in die zweite Runde gehen, wenn sich bereits vorab genug Leser finden.

Aus der Kollision zwischen Online und Print entstand CIRCUS – das erste internationale Blogger-Bookazine: Die journalistische Avantgarde des Internets produziert zweimal im Jahr eine neue, monothematische Ausgabe der CIRCUS-Reihe. Blogger schreiben in ihrer Muttersprache über die Fragen, die sie beschäftigen und lassen uns mit ihren Illustrationen und Fotos die Welt durch ihre Augen sehen.

CIRCUS Bookazine

CIRCUS ist ein Bookazine, eine perfekte Symbiose aus Buch und Magazin. Es wird von Bloggern geschrieben. Nichts wird wiederverwertet, alle Inhalte werden frisch für das Bookazine produziert. CIRCUS erscheint weltweit, jedes Jahr zweimal. Jede Ausgabe hat ein neues Überthema.

CIRCUS Bookazine

CIRCUS #2 Voyage ist eine abwechslungsreiche Reise in fremde Länder und vergangene Abenteuer, spannende Kulturen und alternative Lebensarten. Wie schon in der ersten Ausgabe gewähren Blogger aus der ganzen Welt einen Blick in ihre Welt und lassen uns hautnah erleben, was ihr Land und ihre Kultur so einzigartig macht. Als Reporter vor Ort sind sie unabhängig, kritisch und besser informiert über ihre Heimat, als es ein erfahrener Reisejournalist je sein könnte. Sie beleuchten Winkel und stellen Fragen, die im saisonalen »Wohin diesmal?« der Hochglanzmagazine übersehen werden:

CIRCUS Bookazine

Trauen sich unsere schönen Models, die ekligsten Spezialitäten der Welt zu essen? Wie wurde Luis Vuitton vom Kofferpacker zum Gepäckdesigner? Wie sahen die Privatjets von afrikanischen Diktatoren aus? Was erlebten internationale Stars auf ihrer ersten Reise ohne Eltern? Wieviel Lösegeld bekommt man als Terrorist für einen Abenteuertouristen? Wo findet ein Lonely-Planet-Autor seine Geheimtipps? Wie fährt es sich in der Pferdekutsche von San Francisco nach Boston? Welche reichen Rennfahrer werden beim illegalen Gumball3000 auf der Strecke von London nach Istanbul ihr Leben riskieren?

CIRCUS Bookazine

Mitmachen

Du kennst die spannendste Story für CIRCUS Voyage schon? Du möchtest auch Autor, Illustrator oder Fotograf werden? Du würdest gerne auf eine andere Weise mit uns zusammenarbeiten? Wir freuen uns darauf, deine tollen Ideen zu lesen, aber leider sind wir noch nicht so weit, dass wir Ideen und Beiträge durchsehen können. Wenn du bei unserer Reise dabei sein willst, abonniere unseren Newsletter. Du wirst einer der ersten sein, die erfahren, wenn wir wieder nach neuen Mitarbeitern suchen.

CIRCUS Bookazine

Obwohl sich unser Bookazine um Reisen drehen wird, werden wir euer Geld nicht dafür verwenden, die Welt zu entdecken. Wir brauchen es für die Produktion (etwa für Foto-Shootings oder Materialien für Illustrationen) und natürlich für den Druck und den Vertrieb in die ganze Welt. Mit 25 000 Euro decken wir alle Druck- und Gemeinkosten. Darin sind allerdings nicht die Löhne für unser Team und unsere Blogger enthalten. Aber wir hoffen, dass wir ein paar Exemplare auch über reguläre Distributionskanäle verkaufen. Und jeden Dollar, der durch diese Verkäufe reinkommt, werden unsere Blogger und das Redaktionsteam für ihren Schweiß und ihre Tränen bekommen.

CIRCUS Bookazine

Also wie funktioniert das Ganze?

Wir, die Redaktion in Darmstadt, werden den gesamten Workflow organisieren. Sobald wir unser Finanzierungsziel erreicht haben, werden wir die Blogger kontaktieren, Ideen entwickeln und das Bookazine zusammenstellen. Wir gehen allem nach, aber ohne die erstaunliche Arbeit unserer weltweit verteilten, mitwirkenden Blogger wäre CIRCUS niemals möglich.

Wenn ihr mehr über den Produktionsverlauf, den Finanzierungsplan, das Team oder jegliches andere Thema erfahren wollt, fragt uns auf Formspring.

CIRCUS Bookazine

CIRCUS Voyage – as if you were already there.

Veröffentlichung: September 2011.